Sisson Ownby Award

The Southeastern Affordable Housing Management Association (SAHMA) introduces the Sisson/Ownby Rising Star Award in honor of two of SAHMA’s founding members, the late Ed Sisson and SAHMA Past-President Patty Ownby. Ed Sisson helped set the standards for superior performance in the management of affordable housing and was the epitome of using education and training as a means to advance to the ranks of a property management executive. Similarly, Patty Ownby has worked tirelessly in our industry and was instrumental in the creation of national education and certification programs; she rose to become a leader in our industry and our organization.

Both were recognized early on in their careers as rising leaders and they exemplified the same commitment and dedication to affordable housing management. Their outstanding work in providing and improving the quality of affordable housing in the Southeast is legendary.

NOW, we are searching to find and recognize new emerging leaders in our industry who follow in the footsteps of Mr. Sisson and Ms. Ownby.

Do you have someone in your organization or know of someone in our industry who is uniquely gifted and inspiring? Is working their way up the professional ladder one rung at a time? With this award we’d like to recognize a deserving member of our affordable housing community and award them a $1,000 tuition honorarium so they can continue up the ladder and fulfill their professional goals.

All YOU have to do is nominate a deserving individual! Send us a letter containing complete contact information for you and your nominee. Make sure to provide details relating to the questions below. You may nominate as many persons as you feel deserve this honor. Naturally, your nominee must be employed by a SAHMA member company.

To be eligible for consideration:

  • Describe the nominee’s current industry related education and credentials (FHC, CPO, SHCM, NAHP etc.) or their plan to attain these or other industry education/credentials.
  • How has the nominee contributed above and beyond the norm, to the success of their property/company (staying current on industry changes, being pro-active and a creative problem solver, team player etc.)
  • Other accomplishments or activities in our industry/community (SAHMA or community/charity volunteer etc., that contribute to their overall commitment to our industry)

The deadline for nominations is Friday, June 12, 2020. Please note that this is a firm deadline. The award recipient will be selected by the SAHMA Awards Committee based solely on the information derived from the nomination. The award will be presented at the 2020 SAHMA Leadership Affordable Housing Conference.

There is no fee associated with this nomination. Simply provide a letter of nomination, along with this nomination form, and send to by the deadline. What better way to recognize an industry rising star! If you need additional information, please contact the SAHMA office (800) 745-4088 or email


Sisson/Ownby Rising Star Award Winner

2019 · Anita Darnall

2018 · Simona Torres

2017 · Charlene Johnson

2016 · Rindy Kirkman

2015 · Michelle T. Daniels

2014 · Tijua Robinson

Ed Sisson Award Winners

2013 · Michael Williams

2012 · Ron Budynas

2011 · Pat Somers

2010 · Alice F. Morris

2009 · Linda D. Mills

2008 · Donna Atkinson

2007 · Mike Hjort

2006 · Rebecca Black

2005 · Brent Frost

2004 · Alma J. Chavis

2003 · Kim Howard

2002 · Cindy Pappas

2001 · Dwayne Legrant

2000 · Melissa Evans

1999 · Jennie Hawkins

1998 · Maxine Moore

1997 · Bonny Olayiwola

1996 · Earnestine McAlister

1995 · Brenda Davis

Member Programs

Multi-Family Insurance Program

Facilities Maintenance Buying Program

2021 Calendars Are Now Available!